disoriented

The old advice that one tells others what one needs to hear oneself has proved true for me lately. In several conversations, in person and over e-mail, I have advised others not to move too quickly toward resolution in their spiritual lives but to allow themselves to be disoriented. Disorientation, I assured them, is a creative place where we can allow our assumption about who we are and who God is to fade into the background so that we can be surprised. I told them stories about the Israelites in the wilderness who wanted to return to Egypt because it was familiar and who had to be remade in the desert before they were prepared for their land of milk and honey.

The word disorientation had come up enough times in the last week that it began to stand out to me. I had that sinking feeling in my gut that I was the one who needed to move more deeply into his own disorientation.

For the moment, all the dust is kicked up in my life. I have recently taken on new responsibilities in the monastic community. While these new roles allow me to engage my creativity in different ways, the weight of their demands doesn’t yet feel natural. I’m having to learn again how to find the balance between work, prayer, study, and quiet. This struggle is also allowing me once again to look at old patterns that assure me my value in productivity rather than being.

I’m also neck-deep in a long writing project. It’s work that I feel utterly compelled into. It’s life-giving, creative, deeply personal, and healing. At the same time, it demands a lot of me and is taking me to places I wasn’t sure I had any interest in going. Old, old feelings arise as I write, and I am learning to thank God that I’m now alive and awake enough to experience those feelings.

I see the choice before me: to reassure myself that everything is okay and that life will go on as it always has before, or to choose consciously to walk forward into my own disorientation, trusting, not that God will lead me to the same place I was before, but that God will likely shatter my comfortable certainties and will then put those fragments back together. This is certainly not the first time I’ve walked through a kind of wilderness.

At times like these I am thankful for my guides, past and present. One of these people recently said to me that I have a rich inner life. I thought for a moment and responded that I have done a lot of work to have that life, but that I’ve also been extraordinarily fortunate to have people, places, and opportunities that have provided the capaciousness for that life to emerge and blossom.

I am alive today in ways that I was not three, five, ten years ago. And this present disorientation is both a result of that aliveness and an invitation to enter it more fully. Yet again, I find myself saying “yes.”


Never miss a post. Click on the menu icon in the upper right of this page and enter your e-mail address to receive a notification when I post each week. I will not share your contact information.

7 Replies to “disoriented”

  1. Oh my! I can relate to every word you’ve written here, especially to having to refind the balance between work, prayer, study, and quiet. I’ve found that finding the balance is always a temporary achievement, since life is never static and something always seems to upset the apple cart, whether something of my own choosing or not. But pondering your thoughts, I guess that dynamic quality which is so often disorienting is also what keeps us growing. As usual, you’ve given me something to chew on for a while, and I hope I can get to the point of welcoming that disorientation. I’m not there yet, but I will try to enter into it as an opportunity rather than resist it.

    Like

    1. Thanks for your thoughtful comments, as always, Melissa. I think you’re right–any balance is only temporary. Chaos and movement are the life of the universe and the life of God. Any stability I find must really be an acceptance and deeper movement into that energy of chaos and creativity. It’s not generally easy, though!

      Like

  2. Thank you Brother Aidan. Your writing, your thoughts are always, for me, so thought provoking and meaningful. After a beautiful and loving 33 years together I lost my partner last May, and so With my world turned upside down, I am experiencing a level of disorientation that I never thought possible. With a strong faith I have somehow been able to find the trust that I will be led to some new place, with a renewed sense of purpose – and so thank you for sharing parts of your journey and of your faith – and for reinforcing for me the idea that it is okay to really feel this time of disorientation with the hope that even though it will never be the same that it will turn out all right.

    Like

    1. Bob, thank you for your comments. I’m sorry to hear of your loss. You’re right that grief is one of those experiences of intense disorientation. It’s not enjoyable, but it is a holy experience, as is love, as is death. I’ll keep you in my prayers as you move through the desert.

      Like

Leave a comment